Home Latest News Pakistan Swears In New Federal Cabinet

Pakistan Swears In New Federal Cabinet

by Newsweek Pakistan

Courtesy PID

Comprised of 43 lawmakers, new cabinet largely comprised of same individuals as former premier Nawaz Sharif’s cabinet

Pakistan’s new federal cabinet, comprising 43 lawmakers, took oath of office on Friday morning at a ceremony organized at the Presidency in Islamabad.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath-taking of Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi’s cabinet, which includes 27 federal ministers and 16 state ministers. While the cabinet largely features the same individuals as ousted prime minister Nawaz Sharif’s cabinet, some people have been shuffled to different portfolios while others are new additions.

Ahsan Iqbal, the minister of planning under Nawaz Sharif, will be the country’s new interior minister, assuming the post after Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan announced last month that he would no longer be involved in government. Khawaja Muhammad Asif, the former defense minister, is meanwhile assuming the charge of foreign minister—a portfolio that Sharif had retained for himself. He is the first foreign minister to assume the post since Hina Rabbani Khar stepped down prior to the 2013 general elections. Khurram Dastgir-Khan will take his former position.

Ishaq Dar, who is facing a National Accountability Bureau reference following the Panama Papers verdict, will continue as finance minister.

A complete list of the new federal cabinet follows:

Finance minister Ishaq Dar

Foreign minister Khawaja Asif

Interior ministry Ahsan Iqbal

Defense minister Khurram Dastgir-Khan

Religious affairs minister Sardar Muhammad Yousaf

Railways minister Saad Rafique

Parliamentary Affairs minister Sheikh Aftab

States and Frontier Regions minister Abdul Qadir Baloch

Education minister Baleegh Ur Rehman

Housing minister Akram Durrani

Inter-provincial coordination minister Riaz Hussain Pirzada

Climate change minister Mushaidullah Khan

Shipping minister Kamran Michael

Commerce and trade minister Pervez Malik

The remaining federal ministers are Hafiz Abdul Kareem, Syed Javed Ali Shah, Rana Tanveer Hussain, Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi, Salahuddin Tirmizi, Muhammad Barjees Tahir, Zahid Hamid, Sardar Awais Ahmed Khan Leghari, Pir Syed Sadaruddin Shah Rashidi, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Saira Afzal Tarar, Sikandar Hayat Khan Bosan and Maulana Ameer Zaman.

The state ministers administered oath today comprised of Tariq Fazal Chaudhry, Haji Muhammad Akram Ansari, Muhammad Junaid Anwaar Chaudhry, Abid Sher Ali, Jam Kamal Khan, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Anusha Rahman, Darshan, Muhammad Talal Chaudhry, Mohsin Shahnawaz Ranjha, Usman Ibrahim, Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju, Chaudhry Jaffar Iqbal, Sardar Muhammad Arshad Khan Laghari, Pir Muhammad Aminul Hasnat Shah and Ghalib Khan.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment