Home Latest News PTI Retains Slim Majority After By-polls

PTI Retains Slim Majority After By-polls

by AFP

Arif Ali—AFP

Of the 36 constituencies being contested, the ruling party won 15

Pakistan’s ruling party under Prime Minister Imran Khan has maintained its slim majority in Parliament after key by-elections, final results showed on Monday.

Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) won 15 seats of the total 36 on offer in polls held across the country on Sunday, according to the Election Commission of Pakistan. Its ally the Pakistan Muslim League (Quaid), one of several parties with which it has formed a coalition government, won an additional two seats, bringing the coalition’s total in the National Assembly to 177 out of 342.

The main opposition Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) increased its seat count to 85 by securing 11 wins. The Awami National Party and the Pakistan Peoples Party won two seats each, while the rightwing Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal won a single seat and independents won three.

The by-elections come after a national vote on July 25 propelled former World Cup cricketer Khan to power, an outcome that was rejected by the main opposition parties. Most of the National Assembly seats had been open as Pakistan allows candidates to run in multiple constituencies, but keep only one seat.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment