Home Lightbox Sri Lanka Cricket Series Schedule Announced

Sri Lanka Cricket Series Schedule Announced

by AFP

File photo. Marty Melville—AFP

Comprising two Tests, five one-day matches and three Twenty20 bouts, the series will culminate in Lahore

Pakistan on Saturday announced the itinerary for a full series against Sri Lanka that will be played mainly in neutral venues but features a planned finale in Lahore.

The series will comprise two Tests—the second a day-night affair—five one-day and three Twenty20 internationals. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) hopes to host the last Twenty20 in Lahore, depending on whether a three-match series against a World XI team next week passes off without incident.

PCB Director Haroon Rasheed said he hoped the match would be held as planned. “We have scheduled the last Twenty20 in Lahore with high hopes and it will follow our series with World XI,” said Rasheed.

Pakistan have been forced to play their home international games in the U.A.E. since a 2009 terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore suspended all international matches in the country.

Rasheed said the second Test would be a day-night affair in Dubai. “Day-night Tests are an innovation worldwide and it is aimed at attracting spectators to the ground after their office timings,” said Rasheed, a former Pakistan batsman.

Australia hosted the first day-night Test against New Zealand in Adelaide in 2015. Pakistan also hosted a day-night Test against the West Indies in Dubai last year.

The PCB said the Test series commences in Abu Dhabi on Sept. 28 and will be followed by a day-night Test in Dubai beginning Oct. 6. The five-match one-day series will be played in Dubai (Oct. 13), Abu Dhabi (Oct. 16 and 18) and Sharjah (Oct. 20 and 23). Abu Dhabi will host the first two Twenty20 internationals on Oct. 26 and 27 while the last T20 will be in Lahore on Oct. 29.


Sept. 28-Oct. 2 First Test Abu Dhabi

Oct. 6-10 Second Test (day-night) Dubai

Oct. 13 First ODI Dubai

Oct. 16 Second ODI Abu Dhabi

Oct. 18 Third ODI Abu Dhabi

Oct. 20 Fourth ODI Sharjah

Oct. 23 Fifth ODI Sharjah

Oct. 26 First Twenty20 international Abu Dhabi

Oct. 27 Second Twenty20 international Abu Dhabi

Oct. 29 Third Twenty20 international Lahore

Related Articles

Leave a Comment